I think that once you’ve gotten the hang of the Affiliate Marketing strategy promoting other folks product, it would make sense to write and publish your own product.

If you sign up at ClickBank as a publisher, (which I haven’t done yet, but plan to), I think they only charge you like $50.00 or so to get your account as a publisher set up. Then they’ll manage the affiliate program for you. They’ll process credit cards and do the whole bit. I think it’s a good deal.

To me, it’s the logical next step in the make money online pursuit.  It goes back to the ol’ ‘I’d rather make 1% of a hundred other people’s effort than 100% of my own effort.”  There are quite literally thousands and thousands of people looking for products to promote on ClickBank.  Just think about the volume of business you could do if you could tap into all those people.

There are a couple keys to being a successful publisher at ClickBank:

1.  Remember your audience.  When you’re promoting your product to affiliates, remember that you’re not promoting your product anymore, your promoting a BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY.  You gotta convince other folks that they’re going to make money by promoting your product.  Don’t spend too much time convincing affiliates how great the product is.

2.  Provide Support.  You gotta let your affiliates know that you’re there for them, and that you’ll support them.  You should provide them with keyword lists to use in the PPC campaigns.  You should give them banner ads, and you should pre-write some PPC ads (both text ads and graphic ads) that are already formatted and ready to go at the major PC places like Google and Yahoo.

3.  Show, claim, or demonstrate high conversion rates and low return rates.  When you’re an affiliate, you want to know that sites convert.  I want to be sure that if I send 100 people to your site, that at least one or two of them are going to turn into a customer.  Conversion rates are very simple to calculate.  If you send 100 people to a page, and 2 of them make a purchase, the conversion rate is 2%.

I’m currently working on my own eBook that’s all about making money on-line.  I’m planning to market my book as a “Foundational Principles” type book that’s going to teach you the fundamentals that you need to be successful.

Most of the eBooks and programs out there are so over hyped and make really outrageous claims about $100,000 a month clickbank accounts.  I’ve never directly seen any of these accounts, and I’m sure they probably exist, but without the correct foundation, there’s not much chance that you’re going to end up with anything even close to that.

So keep your eyes open.  Hopefully I’ll have my course ready to go soon.  It’ll be complete with a video series and everything!  Hopefully it’ll be the standard 101 introduction for anyone who wants to make money on-line.

A lot of these other books and programs cost about $80.00 give or take.  My attitude toward that is that while probably 80% of the material is the same old stuff re-hashed, it’s actually pretty likely that there is a tip or trick or idea in the course that’s going to help you earn more … IF you have the right foundation in place.  That’s where my book comes in place.

So keep your eyes open and I’ll let you know when the book is ready to go!